It’s October!

I hope you are all enjoying the month of October as much as I am! I know the month just started, but I love the fall! Cooler air, festivals, the trees changing color…I sense a trip to the mountains is not far off in my future. Just wanted to give all of you a few updates on some projects that are in the works.

Earlier today, I submitted my short story entry for Q1 of the Writers of the Future contest! I will provide updates to its progress as I hear back. Interested in learning more about the contest?

Here is the link to the contest rules.
https://www.writersofthefuture.com/enter-writer-contest/

I wholly encourage and support anyone that takes interest in wanting to submit to this event. I had an awesome time participating this quarter and I already have some idea planned for the next short story I’ll be submitting in January. Eventually I may turn the stories I submit into this contest into an anthology collection, so please look forward to it.

We are only 30 days away from National Novel Writing Month (Nano). Are any of you planning on participating this year? I had been going back and forth on whether or not I would make an attempt at this event in 2019, but ultimately decided to come up with something after some encouragement from my friends.

For my Nano Project, I am working on an outline for a sci-fi noir piece. I hope to have this outline completed by the middle of the month so that way, on November 1st I can hit the ground running. This is outside of my usual fantasy comfort zone, but after receiving some feedback, it’s a solid concept that I am looking forward to running with. I will be sure keep you all updated on progress for this project as well.

Here is the Nano link for anyone that wants more information:
https://nanowrimo.org/

Currently, when I am not working on my Nano outline or coming up with potential short story ideas, I am working on the draft for a contemporary fantasy novel (Working Title: Chondrial) that I HOPE to have the draft for it finished by the end of the year. It’s got a dystopian feel to it, and has a magic system that uses quartz stones as it’s base (I love geology, more than a sane person probably should). I have some other science elements tied into this story as well, and will be sure to release news concerning that as well as I am able.

That’s all I have for now, will talk to you all again soon!

Published by reynichols

A fantasy author currently residing in Cramerton, NC

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started